100 things to do in 1000 days; #21: Visit the Wizarding World of Harry Potter.

21: Visit the Wizarding World of Harry Potter

So in my last post, I kicked off my 100 things/1000 days list, as a sort of implicit New Year’s resolution/show of optimism for feeling much better and more (for a lack of a better term) awake since some time last February.

I’ve been following Jen (from http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/) on her blog http://www.epbot.com/ which, in typical internet fashion, led me to http://bakingdom.blogspot.com/, which brought the Wizarding World of Harry Potter to my attention. I think I vaguely remember hearing something about it back when the rumours first started, but I’d completely forgotten about its existence until this blog entry reminded me that it was vitally important to the living of my life that I see this theme park almost immediately.

Two days later (and about 3 days before the winter break started), my dad phoned me up and asked me, “What do you think about going to Florida for the winter break?”

To which I replied: “[Enormous gasp] OH MY GOD DO YOU KNOW WHAT’S IN FLORIDA?

And that’s how I completed the first thing on this list before I even finished writing it.

___________________________________________________________________

In order to get to HP, we had to walk through the comic book world, the cartoon world, and Jurassic Park, presumably to make sure those attractions got some love too, even if it was involuntary. John William’s score was playing everywhere, which was awesome.

The only two locations in the entire Wizarding World of Harry Potter

Hogwarts first. It’s what Harry would have done.

It was smaller than we’d thought it would be, but still awesome (much like Stonehenge). The Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey ride makes up basically the entire Hogwarts section. Unfortunately, Michael couldn’t go because of his shoulder injury, and if I’d known it would take over an hour to go through, I wouldn’t have done it without him (while he waited outside in the rain). The lady at the front of the line told us I’d get through in 5 minutes, and could let him know if he could handle it. Except evidently she meant the line to get into the castle was 5 minutes, because even if I had run through the whole exhibit I couldn’t have gotten out in that amount of time.

On the other hand, I know exactly what I would do with this.

On the other hand, I know exactly what I would do with this.

I so wanted one of these, but I couldn't figure out what I would do with it

I so wanted one of these, but I couldn't figure out what I would do with it

Then we went to explore Hogsmede, where “overpriced” isn’t just a word, it’s a way of life. I’m only complaining because I was desperate to get a Marauder’s Map, which I thought (ok, hoped) would be maybe around $20 (you know, like the cost of an entire book), but turned out to be somewhere much nearer $50.

I so wanted to get one of these, but I couldn’t figure out what I would do with it.

It was really cold and windy, so we hid inside the Hog’s Head when it got too cold to continue waiting in lines outside, and tried some Butterbeer (!!!).

Evidently so windy that my brother was unable to hold the camera properly. Sigh. Why is it so hard to get the horizon straight, people?

Evidently so windy that my brother was unable to hold the camera properly. Sigh. Why is it so hard to get the horizon straight, people?

It was not at all bad, but there was so much foam, and it kept on expanding, which was minorly terrifying.

We snacked on a chocolate frog (card = Helga Hufflepuff), explored every last one of the stores (on my command), then decided to call it a day.

Our parents were still out birdwatching at Clearwater by the time we were done, so I took Michael to see Tangled, and he, in turn, took me to see Deathly Hallows, which I still hadn’t managed to watch, and it seemed appropriate.

All-in-all, a great time. Very encouraging way to kick off my list.

(It’s worth it to note: because the weather was crappy – for Florida – and we went early, we did, mostly, beat the lines. We left around lunch-time, which was when the queuing really started to become unmanageable, and were able to cover the entire park in about 3 1/2 hours, although it would have been more if we’d eaten at the Three Broomsticks, which had a massive lineup the entire time we were there.)

__________________________________________________

One day, I may figure out how to properly format things on wordpress. Until then, here are some leftover pictures.

Posted on January 2, 2011, in 100 things in 1000 days, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

