Earth: The Book – Review – ****

I’m not really sure what to do with a Cannonball Read book of which I have almost nothing useful to say.

Basically, if you’ve read America: The Book (which I have), or watch the Daily Show (which I do), you know what to expect, and the book certainly doesn’t disappoint. It doesn’t really present anything new, either, though.

Let’s see…

The book is packaged in a manner similar to the faux-textbook presentation of America, but written as a guide to Earth for the aliens who will succeed us once the human race, inevitably, self-destructs.

The nine chapters focus on such important areas as culture, science, religion, man, and, of course, Earth, and they make all the expected jokes. I don’t mean this as an insult – very few jokes fell flat, for me, and the presentation, illustrations, writing, and concept all gel to make a thoroughly entertaining yet relaxing read. Each chapter ends with an amusing FAQ (Future Alien Questions) section and a sort of Earth-bingo score card, which is a fun touch. I just mean that there really isn’t much more to say. Maybe my brain’s just fried from midterms, but *shrug,* I’m out of words*.

-30-

* One thing about Earth that got me ridiculously, super excited, though, was the last page of Chapter 9, Culture. This was a silly-looking crossword puzzle. The caption? “Do it. You know you want to.” This train of thought followed: this couldn’t possibly be an actual crossword. Who would spend so much time creating a crossword that no one’s likely to do? I wonder if any of the clues even have actual answer. This one does. Huh, it even matches with the across version. Oh my god, is this actually real? It’s 2 in the morning. I should go to sleep.

 

Three hours later.

 

I didn't want to get pencil marks on my new book.

.

.

Cannonball Read III: 2/52

Posted on January 26, 2011, in 100 things in 1000 days, Book Reviews, Books, Cannonball Read 3 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Wow I had no idea there was a crossword! I’m only in chapter four I believe. I’ll have to check it out.

  2. ahhh I love that the crossword looks like an NYT one too! Good job on it too – you got it all! I enlarged it to look at the clues and it’s all funny clues that are kind of clever and I don’t think I would have gotten a lot of them since I’m bad with clever clues.

  3. Good job, although I got a few different answers:
    6A: ABBE (first part of Abbey Road)
    6D: EDU (online petitions come from college students)
    52A: CCI (Roman numerals for 201)
    54D: INUIT
    57A: HANOI
    65D: HER
    69A: EBRO (electronic brother?)
    73A: ANTES (Spanish for ‘before’, as in peyote comes before vomiting)

    I can’t read/understand your answers for 24D/31A, which I didn’t get.

  4. Oh excellent, I was hoping I would have someone to compare with, as I wasn’t sure about a lot of my answers. I’m just commenting now to say I will absolutely get back to you, but I need some sweet sweet sleep first. Crosswords will have to wait until the weekend. Congrats on finishing, though 🙂

  5. @xwordnut

    24D is for Apex Technical School.(they used to have commercials for it on local stations in the NY/NJ area.)

    31A : Punk (as in the music form) is dead.

    Agreed on everything else.

    Gratitude.

  6. 60A: SHIT, because…
    61D: HUNT, As in “Is Mike Hunt here? Paging Mike Hunt…”
    62D: INGE, 50’s playwright, won a Nobel, frequent use in crosswords

  7. Ha! Now I’m going to do the crossword! I’m working my way through this slowly, as I only read it when I’m using the toilet. The Daily Show books are perfect bathroom books.

  8. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you, However I
    am going through issues with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having the same RSS problems? Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  1. Pingback: dsbs’s CBR III Review #2: Earth: The Book by Jon Stewart and the writers of the Daily Show | Cannonball Read III

Leave a Reply

