100 things to do in 1000 days; #90: Creatively ice a cake.

I’m going to miss my brother’s birthday this year. He’s younger than me, but he’s the sensible, responsible one. When I was a kid and people asked me, “Where do you live?” I’d always tell them to ask my brother – I didn’t know. Why should I? When we look after the house when the parents are on vacation, he does the dishwasher and waters the plants before I even notice they need to be done. Now, I do prefer the place where I live to planet Earth, which is why I spend so much time there (people never say “I could care less,” for one thing), but I recognize it isn’t always easy to live with, so I wanted to do something special for the person who drives me everywhere because I’m too afraid to get my license (I loathe driving). So when asked what I wanted to do for my creative cake icing exercise, I decided to make him an early birthday cake.

He’s a huge baseball fan, so I settled on the Blue Jays for a theme, based on this cake:

Michelle taught me the technique…

And we made him this:

I did the Blue Jay logo all by myself.

Very proud. It even got me a hug.

Once again, Michelle, I can’t thank you enough. And it tastes amazing.

Posted on July 22, 2011, in 100 things in 1000 days and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. omg this looks amazing. You’ve got serious skills.

  2. Thank you so much! I hope you realise it was the blue one, not the red one, though, right? Because this is my first time, and no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t get it as smooth as that :p I also have no idea how they made the balls.

  3. Yes, I meant the blue one. It looks good! and looks smooth as well!

    Seriously, your 100 things to do list is making me feel so lazy. This looks like hard (but fun) work.

  4. Yay, thanks πŸ˜€

    I only started the list because I was feeling lazy. I like it, because it’s a mix of hard things that will take a good deal of time (e.g. GET DEGREE), and easy things, like bake a cake, that are more straightforward, but I never end up doing because I never think to do it at the available time, you know? Or movies that I’ve always wanted to see, but instead I watch an old favourite for the 50th time πŸ˜› So don’t feel lazy! It’s basically organised laziness, I think. Although I would recommend it. It took me a couple of weeks to come up with all 100 (some of them were more bucket-list than actual thing I’m likely to achieve in 3 years).

Leave a Reply

