100 things to do in 1000 days; #96: Do a 1000+ piece puzzle.

“Hey, L, I need a puzzle for tomorrow. Do you mind coming with me to buy one?”

“Oh, don’t worry, why don’t you take one of mine?”

“Sure, awesome!”

“Here.”‘

“Thanks!

Um.

Do you have any others?”

“No, take this one, it’s good!”

“Yeah, ok. Yeah. Excellent!”

I swear, L. I swear. This was the puzzle from HELL. We spent eons hunched over that puzzle, as six hour chunks passed us by without notice(able progress). The edges were irregular, the pieces were bizarrely shaped, everything was the same freaking shade of purple, brown, or white, and so in hindsight, we may have been a bit over optimistic when we planned on getting it done in a night…then two nights…then three nights…ok, four nights. God.

And then AND THEN, at the end of all that.

A piece is missing.

But after 4 days, and what I can only assume is 999 pieces, I am counting this as done. DONE I SAY.

Dimitri

Dammit, Dimitri.

Posted on July 26, 2011, in 100 things in 1000 days and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. noooo that one wretched piece!!!

    I say you’re as good as done. Man, I miss working on puzzles! I used to do ’em as a kid all the time. You did that monster in 4 days only? That takes some serious dedication – Good on you!

  2. I KNOW! It’s not as though I wouldn’t know where to put it! ARGH!

    My friend and I did it in 4 days, yeah. Also, my brother put in 6 pieces, her mom did 4, and her brother threw a few around, but I think it counts. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

