100 things to do in 1000 days; #97: Get my ear cartilage pierced once and for all.

When I first decided I wanted a cartilage piercing, I thought to myself: look, you might change your mind in a year or two. It’s $60 (which was a big deal at the time). Let’s see if you still want it next year. I did. And the year after that. And the year after that. When I went to university and starting earning reasonable amounts of my own money, I thought: better not do it during school, or you won’t be able to concentrate, and your awful sleeping habits will stop you from keeping it properly clean. And then the summer came, and I thought: perfect! Except wait, you’re not allowed in a pool for two months after the piercing in case of infection? But I’m going to the UK! Cuba! Barbados! Thailand! Italy! A pool! Etc! I might want to swim there!

Frankly, I think I was just afraid of the pain.

So when I was downtown today, having just gotten paid on Friday, and I walked past New Tribe on Queen Street West, I just walked in and did it.* So yay. Next up is a third hole in my left ear, and then I think I’m done. I definitely don’t want two on both sides – too sickeningly symmetrical.

For the record, the place was great. Reasonably priced, perfectly friendly at the desk, and Daryl (who did my piercing) was patient, reassuring, and shared a love of Community. So 5 stars for them. And *I had done research beforehand.

Posted on September 23, 2012, in 100 things in 1000 days and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

