100 things to do in 1000 days IN PROGRESS; #4, 24: Finish the first draft of my book (The King) and Participate in a NaNoWriMo

Because this is my list, I’m doing it my way. The goal of National November Writing Month is 50,000 words written by the 30th. Let’s be realistic: I probably won’t make that goal. So, like I did for the Cannonball Reads, I’m adapting it. Whatever I don’t get done by the end of the month, I’ll aim to get done before September 2013 (the end of this little enormous project). I’m not focusing solely on one novel (The King), either, this book I’ve been “writing” since, what, 10th grade? I’m also clearing out my room of the tiny scraps of paper containing sentence fragments and half-ideas that have accumulated over the years. I’m transferring them from napkins and the backs of receipts to my computer, where I can revisit them and sort them and, hopefully, one day, use them. Three birds with one stone! (This includes “cleaning my room.”)

Here is an example of some gibberish I wrote on a napkin so I wouldn’t forget:

“Eating: Doctor show off; Grandma/talking about the violence [volcano?] of shot [short? Squirt?] her nose [oh, “volcano” of “snot”] had produced that evening.”

Wow, that was definitely worth the napkin and decoding time. This is going to be an interesting project.

http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/participants/dsbs42/novels/the-king-242694

Posted on November 6, 2012, in 100 things in 1000 days and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I wanted to create you the tiny observation so as to say thanks a lot the moment again about the wonderful thoughts you’ve discussed here. This is so incredibly open-handed with people like you to deliver unhampered what exactly most people would’ve made available for an electronic book to end up making some cash for their own end, certainly considering the fact that you might well have done it in case you desired. Those smart ideas also worked to become easy way to realize that some people have a similar fervor much like my own to see a lot more in terms of this problem. I am certain there are many more pleasant instances up front for many who looked over your blog.

    • I know this is spam, but I’m saving it for the lovely, delicious word salad. Wow, spambot, have you outdone yourself this time.

Leave a Reply

