100 things to do in 1000 days; #33: Visit Marina in Minnesota Washington California Hawaii.

I have some bad news to break to you guys: growing up can kind of suck. That cozy little shell of a home city you lived in, the one that that held all your friends and family and familiarity inside, it cracks open, and the people you were closest to spread out all over the whole damn world. One of my best friends from high school went to do her master’s degree in the US. I swore I would visit her – Minnesota is not that far away! But I was also at school, and not earning that much, and anyway, the next thing I knew she got a job in Washington. What an awesome place to go visit with a friend! I was so serious about finally getting to see her that I went and put “visit Marina” on my list of 100 Things To Do. But I didn’t get over there, either, before she moved to California. That’s right! The very place where I’d be this summer when I went to Comic-Con! Hurrah! Only I didn’t tickets, the group I was going with bailed, and California was no longer doable.

But no matter! Because this friend was getting married in Hawaii in July, and guess where my parents were planning on going for the next family vacation! (On my suggestion, with only constant prodding and wheedling and whining and nagging!) That’s right!

So finally, after, what, six years? I got to visit Marina. The wedding ceremony was beautiful, the day was wonderful, and it ended with an exciting view of the 4th of July firework celebration from a dinner cruise. I am so, so happy that I got to be with you on that day, Marina. I hope your honeymoon was amazing. And I swear, it won’t take me another six years before I visit you again.

 

Finally.

Finally.

Posted on July 17, 2013, in 100 things in 1000 days and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

