100 things to do in 1000 days; #27: Learn to Scuba dive.

I tried really hard for this one. I booked weeks in advance for an intro dive course in Maui with Ed Robinson’s Diving, which has excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. But LONG STORY HERE, they cancelled. I tried again on two other days, and they told me the whether was too rough and the visibility too poor for the shore dives that intro divers do. I tried again in Belize, on Caye Caulker, but before I got around to booking I was bitten by a dog in Mexico and told to stay out of the water for three days to prevent infection. Naturally, two of those days were our only days on Caye Caulker. I tried one last time to organize an intro dive in Lake Atitlan, Guatemala, but because of the altitude requirements and bus schedule, couldn’t make it work.

I’m counting this one as done anyway, however, because I did a lot of snorkeling in Hawaii and Central America, as well as a bunch of adventure activities I’ve never done before, and doing things I’ve never done before or always wanted to do is the whole point of this list. I went parasailing, caving, cenote jumping, and finally, snuba diving, which is ALMOST scuba diving, after all.

Essentially, I’m treating item 27 the same way as item 56: I have completed this in spirit, and by the end of the year, hope to complete it in name by taking a diving course in Toronto.

PICTURE OF MY SNUBA DIVING

P1030089

Posted on September 28, 2013, in 100 things in 1000 days and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

