100 things to do in 1000 days; #87: Make a Candle.

IMG_7032Toronto is not a small city. You can do all sorts of weird things in Toronto. We have a sugar museum and a shoe museum and places to learn ukulele, and we have three universities and five colleges with what I am assume are an almost infinite amount of school clubs and societies, but so far as I can tell, we do not have a place to make candles. The closest place I could find was the very friendly and accommodating Village Craft & Candle, located in St. Marys.

IMG_6948

Now, I do not have a driver’s license, and a bus trip to St. Marys ends up being a journey of about six hours (ONE WAY), so I gently suggested to my mother that perhaps this would be a nice bonding experience, and I just bet she’d love candle-making, it’s right up her crafty alley! And, in exchange for tea, help with scrapbooking, and a lifetime of using this against me, mom agreed!

IMG_6994

I don’t have a heck of a lot of funny stories from the actual day. We made pumpkin spice tarts, crispy apple votives, Canadian pillar candles, and autumn-themed cube candles.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After the lesson, we drove to the gift shop, and bought the entire store. We have since made blueberry and raspberry votives, a giant citronella candle for my aunt, one million tea lights of various scents, and some cute cup candles and glass candles. Despite all this, I still get guilted for “forcing” her to drive all the way to St. Marys for something she had no interest in doing whatsoever. None at all.

Posted on September 28, 2013, in 100 things in 1000 days, Picspams and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There was a time I was really into that. I have beeswax, candle scents and all sorts of materials hidden in a cupboard. You made me want to make one again.

Leave a Reply

